XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

97 xj6 no pulse to injectors

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2016, 04:20 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 97 xj6 no pulse to injectors

hello i hope this is the right forum I'm new to this. so i got this 97 xj6 4.0 liter with no signal to injectors verfied with noid tester. any ideas where to look? thinking maybe cam sensor . wiring seems tight any help would be appreciated. thanks . oh car will start if i spray some starting fluid in that little port in the back

Old 06-22-2016, 10:59 PM
Received 12,725 Likes on 6,373 Posts

Hi audionut,

Welcome to the Jaguar Forums! It's great to have you with us.

I have moved your post from the forum for the X350/X358 to the forum for the X300, which is the Jaguar factory project code for your 1997 XJ6.

Here are several questions I can think of:

1. How long will the engine run when you start it using starting fluid?

2. Are you certain there is sufficient fuel in the fuel tank? Fuel level senders are known to provide an incorrect fuel level reading.

3. What is the battery voltage at rest, and what is the battery voltage while cranking? Jags are notorious for requiring a very healthy battery in order to start and run properly, and low voltage during cranking can cause all manner of odd behaviors.

4. Have you scanned the car for any stored OBDII Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs), and if so, did you find any codes stored? If so, please report them here.

5. When you first put the key in the ignition switch and turn the key to Position II (Ignition ON) without starting the car, do you hear the fuel pump run for a couple of seconds? The pump is in the fuel tank behind the rear seat.

The fuel injectors on your car are controlled by variable-width pulses from the Engine Control Module (ECM). Fueling is enriched or enleaned by widening or narrowing the signal pulses.