XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Another door window issue

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2017, 03:32 AM
Received 64 Likes on 45 Posts
Default Another door window issue

Hello Chaps.

Got an odd one on my the front passenger door on my 1996 Sovereign.

Recently I came to the car to find the front passenger window would not open from either passenger or driver switches but I could hear what I presume is a relay clicking associated with pressing down. Next day the battery was flat. Linking the two I pulled the fuse for the left hand windows and no more battery drain. Putting the fuse back in I can hear a regular (every 10 seconds) click from the passenger window even with the car locked and the key out of the ignition.

Yesterday I had the passenger door panel off and removed the switch, all looked fine (I'm no expert but wouldn't see any obvious shorts). When I reattached the passenger switch there was no regular clicking and the window could be lowered! Excellent I thought, maybe it's had a word with itself, but no. Now when I press up the window rolls up and even if you let go of the switch it keeps going (like auto close) it then won't come down again and the regular click (thermal cutover?) returns.

Sorry for the long post, clearly something is forcing the window to close and holding it there but I'm not sure what.

Andrew.

Last edited by LockNumber25; 08-28-2017 at 03:35 AM.
Old 08-28-2017, 08:45 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,383 Likes on 1,087 Posts