XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Couple of questions for all the x300 experts

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2010, 03:38 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Couple of questions for all the x300 experts

Good day everyone,

The other day I removed the radio unit as per instructions I found from several of the threads on this forum and I'm happy to say that it came out without any troubles. However when I got the head unit out, I was unable to disconnect the power lead. I'm going to attempt removing the head unit completely and then bring it to an Alpine service center here and try to get it fixed, I dont know whats wrong with it.

Haha being a scientist, I've never invested so much time without ANY positive results Does anyone know what replacement head unit will fit? I've been told numerous times by the large chain stores that "I'll need a custom job" which was quoted at something almost at $1000. If thats the case I'll buy another x300 and harvest parts from it.

The last problem or issue I need your expert help is in regards to fixing the headliner which has decided to sag quite badly over the rear seats. How would I go about fixing/re-gluing and what products do you recommend?

A million thanks to you experts I'd be lost with you guys

Cheers,

Mike

Old 07-27-2010, 05:46 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

pretty much any single space deck will fit in the space, its just the slope will make it so it will have to be recessed maybe 2 in. which to me looks funny but others like it. it is all in your opinion. what i did was i took the old face plate off the jaguar deck and cut out the insides to fit it around the new deck (took about an hour to grind it all away). this way it looks like it flows with the slope. also someone on the forum found a place that has this peice but idk where.

Old 07-27-2010, 05:51 PM