XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

cupholder in the center armrest

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2011, 01:07 PM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default cupholder in the center armrest

I can safely say that we all are or will have this cupholder issue and some might want to have; 1. reasonable fix, 2. a replacement armrest without cupholder, or 3. glue the sucker in permanently. So..........
1. Reasonable fix; is there a better cupholder piece that will last available?
2. Where can one buy a armrest without cupholder; what vehicle will it come off of or is there a new one being produced.
3. I am really liking the idea of gluing it closed as it is so poorly designed and anything sitting there spills everywhere - it seems it was a after thought, last second, and they ran out of time. The designer should be seriously ashamed.

Old 12-04-2011, 02:11 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I'm new to this, but here's my limited experience.

a) I believe there is a new (improved?) metal hinged version available out there.
b) Every available one I saw, seemed outrageously expensive (at least to me)
c) I've seen references to folks that have repaired them.
d) For the same price range I was seeing just for the cupholder, I ended up buying a brand new whole armrest from an outfit on ebay from the UK that matched my interior. It had the old model plastic hinged cupholder installed. Maybe it will last a few years before I need to search again.

Old 12-04-2011, 06:51 PM
Received 89 Likes on 58 Posts

Hey R. I have had issues with my cupholder aswell. The right side hinge broke so it would stay open. I took the armrest off and drilled a small hole in the piece of the cupholder that was still there. I screwed a screw through the outer hole and the small hole I drilled into the hinge piece of the cupholder. If that's ur issue, I hope it helps!

Old 12-05-2011, 03:27 AM
Veteran Member
Received 637 Likes on 439 Posts
Old 12-06-2011, 10:46 PM
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts