XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Failed starter and no compression

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2014, 11:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Failed starter and no compression

Hi guys my name is Chris and I'm new here!

I am an avid car lover and I have been working on cars for over 20 years. I just love being a grease monkey lol!

Well the reason I'm here today is because my beloved Jaguar has been in a coma since January of this year. Its a 1996 Vanden Plas with the inline 4.0 non supercharged. I am the third owner of this car my father being the second. He purchased the car in 1999 for over 12 grand with 47,000+ miles on it. During the last 2 years of him owning it, it sat up more than he drove it. I constantly begged him to sell to me because of several issues with it and he just finally GAVE it to me! I brought her home and dropped another 600 bucks to bring her back to near showroom performance and appearance.

Now the bad part. Shortly after the first cold snap in Mississippi, I noticed on crank up I would hear a rattling noise for about a second and then I would go away. I figured it was due for an oil change and it fixed the problem for about a week. Noise came back and I was stuck trying to figure it out. The day before I left work and drove it home and all was fine until the next morning. It was 18 degrees and I started the car and it wouldn't crank. So I tried it again with no luck. Coincidently, my starter all failed on me. I brought the car to my shop 2 weeks later and replaced the starter. That's when I noticed the car felt like it had no compression. So I figured my chain had broken and I was utterly disappointed. Once I found out the cost to replace everything I said forget and let her sit until this week.