Help needed: Drive shaft center support replacement

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2014, 10:22 AM
Received 16 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Help needed: Drive shaft center support replacement

Hello everybody!

I'm new here in the forum - you can find some info about me and my Jag here:

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/n...-hello-132292/

I changed the flex disc which connects the drive shaft and the differential yesterday. During installation, I noticed that the drive shaft center support came apart ( I did a visual check just a few weeks ago, and it appeared fine - well, I was wrong since it fell apart pretty bad yesterday ).

I already ordered the new part, but I have ZERO experience working on that area of the car.

So if somebody could give me some info on how to change this part, I would be very thankful!

Do i have to open the U-joints? Or how do i get the part in there?

I will be very thankful for any help and advice in this matter!

Also, is there anything else I could/should do or check while working in this area?

I read about 'balancing the driveshaft' - is that something you would recommend? I don't have any vibrations, so maybe that would not be necessary.

Thanks a lot in advance for your time & help!!

Ingo

Old 12-02-2014, 07:07 PM
Veteran Member
Received 904 Likes on 512 Posts

I did do this job a few years ago but can't remember the exact procedure. I don't think it was very difficult. I think the prop shaft splits at the bearing. See this parts diagram to see what I mean.

Propshaft-3.2/4.0 Litre-Automatic Gearbox - Parts For XJ Series from (V)720125 to (V)812255 (X300) | Jaguar Heritage Parts UK

Old 12-02-2014, 07:24 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,810 Likes on 7,121 Posts

The driveshaft segments must be separated. Make sure to scribe witness marks so it can be reassembled 'in phase'.