XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Radiator fans

Old 10-12-2011, 03:55 PM
Veteran Member
Received 277 Likes on 171 Posts
Smile Radiator fans

When I got my 95 X300 seven years ago I noticed the fans came on and stayed on when the engine was running. I took it to a good local shop and they replaced the sensor in the bottom of the radiator but the fans still came on and stayed on any time the engine was running. He checked for factory changes and found a mod that jag came up with to cause it to do this. It is a jumper in a connector that is on the right side of the engine compartment near the airconditioner lines. He said they had too much trouble with sensor failing so this was the solution. Removing the jumper causes it to go back on the sensor and the fans stop. I have never run without the jumper so don't know if they would work properly or not.

I have been running this way for seven years and 50K miles. Would like to hear what you guys think.

EZDriver

Old 10-12-2011, 09:40 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,064 Likes on 867 Posts

The mod was due to fans blowing fuses during repeated starts. It would probably not hurt to restore it to original, but you can bet Jag went to considerable expense to mod all the cars, so the engineers must believe it is better to run them continuous.

The following users liked this post:
EZDriver (10-13-2011)
Old 10-14-2011, 05:06 PM
Received 315 Likes on 224 Posts

As both of you guys are in the States, I wonder was this mod done only for certain markets? Surely running the fans from start in a very cold climate?winter, means the engine will take longer to get up to normal operating temperature, thus affecting MPG?