XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Motor mount advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2011, 12:10 PM
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Motor mount advice

Some advice for those we have not checked out their motor mounts ever. My 2002 VDP hit the 75k mark and I started to notice a small vibration. I then went in for an oil change and my mechanic pulls out my oil filter to see some pretty impressive dents in it..almost cracked it! We are friends and he looked around and saw my right motor mount was coming apart. Bought both on eBay for 179.99 and had them installed for 3 hours labor 195.00. No more vibration. The left motor mount basically was coming apart on the top half. And it also turns out that the whole screw on the bottom of the left motor mount was loose and could slide some back and forth. I am no expert and am not sure if this damage was due to the past owner or just normal wear or tear, but before you go breaking your oil filter and seizing your engine maybe take a look at your motor mounts and see how they are doing! Definitely was not expecting that to be the issue. Forgot to mention that after the repair my ride is nice and smooth again!

The following users liked this post:
Steve SOMERS (06-07-2022)
Old 01-11-2011, 12:35 PM
Received 86 Likes on 70 Posts
Default Motor Mount R & R in JTIS?

Is this a do-it-yourself job? I took a look in the JTIS for 2001 XJ8 and did not see any reference to the motor mounts anywhere. Maybe someone who has done this can comment on how tough a job it is.

Old 01-11-2011, 03:03 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,341 Likes on 1,057 Posts

@Boomer,

Jack the front up and axle stand the car on both front mounts. Look for the two bungs in the front subframe (use a creeper to slide under the car looking up at the front subframe) you'll see the bungs clearly.
Pry them out with a flatheaded screwdriver. Use long 1/2" extension t6? torx and ratchet to undo the lower bolts holding the mounts to the subframe.