XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Mysterious suspension creak XJR

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2018, 04:22 AM
Received 58 Likes on 51 Posts
Default Mysterious suspension creak XJR

This is my first time posting so first off I want to say thanks to the posters on this forum. Almost every problem I've had with my Jaguars someone had already posted and solved with the input of others. I have recently purchased a 1999 XJR with 67K miles and mostly in great condition. Unfortunately it was in the hands of an incompetent mechanic shortly before I bought it. I went behind and corrected most mistakes but I'm still getting a creaking noise from the right rear when I accelerate from a standstill. It is not the active suspension by the way, standard shocks with no electronics. This has been there since day 1. It almost sounds like it is inside the car but I have taken the door card and rear seat out when I upgraded the stereo and speakers and made sure there was no play or missing clips or screws.

Upon inspection of the suspension I discovered the goofy mechanic had put the coil spring in upside down when he changed the shocks. I flipped the spring and replaced the shock (which came with new shock bushings) for good measure. I have replaced rear shocks on three other XJ8s so I'm pretty sure I did it correctly. I even replaced the large foam donut on top of the coil spring. Luckily the rubber seat for the spring was still on it, pressed against the top of shock tower. I also checked the other side to make sure he wasn't consistently dyslexic.

The stabilizer bar links look solid, no play or frayed bushings. ditto with the bushings for the rear suspension assembly and no sign of the rear having been dropped or accident damage that may have warped or bent anything (and clear CARFAX).