XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

New Jaguar Owner, Need Help. 01 XJR (X308)

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2018, 07:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation New Jaguar Owner, Need Help. 01 XJR (X308)

Hey guys, I'm new to the forums as I'm a new Jaguar owner & I'm hoping for some helpful insight from some other jag owners. So from what I've collected after reading around on the forums/google.. I'm assuming this is not a cheap repair. From under-the-hood, something is making a less than healthy sound, and I'm not a mechanic by any means, but could this be the timing chain tensioner I've heard so much about? If not, any ideas on what it is & what I could expect? I'm located in Maryland if anyone has any ideas on the best place to take my car for service, or if this is (possibly) a DIY fix I could have one of my more mechanically-inclined friends/family members take a look at?

Here is a quick video of the noise I recorded earlier today while the car was running with the hood open.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1CPf...ew?usp=sharing

Old 03-13-2018, 08:18 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,769 Likes on 1,303 Posts

First we'd like to welcome you Charlie. Please introduce yourself and your Jag in the New Members Forum...top left, Forums, New Members Area.
Like any automobile, diagnosing a noise can be difficult. But from what you've posted it could be a couple of things. From either a bad tensioner situation as you suspect to a bad wrist pin amongst others.
You can somewhat easily remove the cam/valve covers without much mechanical skill and inspect the chains and tensioners from above. Checking for looseness and broken/damaged parts. There are also a number of members in your area, so if you post here, you may also wish to post in your Regional Forum regarding a Technician if you so desire to use one.