XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

93 XJ6VP Fuel Gauge

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2013, 07:27 PM
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 93 XJ6VP Fuel Gauge

Hi, we just bought this Green beauty last Monday. Drove it home about 250 miles and all went well. I filled up the fuel tank three days ago and last night on our way home the gauge started dropping fast. This morning, it was on empty and the fuel light is on. I'm quite sure it is still nearly a full tank as it's only been driven about 25 miles and no sign of a leak. I checked around this forum and found a wiring diagram and traced the wiring to the fuel sending unit. I'm getting battery voltage at the sending unit on the B/W wire. If I ground this wire, the gauge should read full shouldn't it? I should tell you, I'm a fleet mechanic and have about 25 years experience on many different types of equipment, however, this is my first Jag.
Thanks for being here, I found the wiring diagram in about 10 minutes and it was quite helpful.

Old 03-31-2013, 08:18 PM

Originally Posted by Firewrench
Hi, we just bought this Green beauty last Monday. Drove it home about 250 miles and all went well. I filled up the fuel tank three days ago and last night on our way home the gauge started dropping fast. This morning, it was on empty and the fuel light is on. I'm quite sure it is still nearly a full tank as it's only been driven about 25 miles and no sign of a leak. I checked around this forum and found a wiring diagram and traced the wiring to the fuel sending unit. I'm getting battery voltage at the sending unit on the B/W wire. If I ground this wire, the gauge should read full shouldn't it? I should tell you, I'm a fleet mechanic and have about 25 years experience on many different types of equipment, however, this is my first Jag.
Thanks for being here, I found the wiring diagram in about 10 minutes and it was quite helpful.