XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

94 XJ12 Front Brakes

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2009, 10:00 PM
Received 19 Likes on 12 Posts
Default 94 XJ12 Front Brakes

I think my front brake pads need to be replaced. Is this something I can just take to like MIDAS and get done or is there a special trick to Jag brakes? Remember...newbie here!!!! :-)

peace out,
daddylogan

Old 10-27-2009, 09:27 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,231 Likes on 716 Posts

Nothing special that I know of. Any shop should be able to do them. Or spend 30 mins per side an do them yourself (including wheel off/wheel on)

Old 10-28-2009, 02:50 AM

Thank you Translator! Thank god that was an easy one :-) The brake lite is coming on and I can feel the "grab" up front so....

When I was younger I was able to do the front brakes on my Honda in about 40 minutes from start to finish, but being that I am not that young man anymore I pay people to do things for me! LOL

On to MIdas!

Thanks again

peace out,
daddylogan

Old 10-28-2009, 12:02 PM
Veteran Member

I should have included that you have also got Pad sensors on the rears as well. Although in my case rear left only.

If your warning light is coming on you should also see a message PAD when you press the VCM button.

Can't help you with the age thing, sadly don't suppose MIDAS can either. Happens to us all.

Slts

Old 11-05-2009, 01:33 AM
Default What a Nightmare!

Well, I took my car into MIDAS on Saturday morning bright and early which is 7:30am. I had called ahead the day before to make sure they would have my pads in stock by the time I got there or within the hour after. Well, I get there and they do their inspection and as I thought my front pads needed replacing. Surprisingly everything else was ok...so I thought!