XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

Climate Control Issues!

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2012, 04:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Climate Control Issues!

Against my better judgement I bought a 91 XJ6 off a customer of mine Always loved Jags and for $400 I can't afford not to drive one! Well where to start Im a mechanic so all the brake and chassis issues were straight forward and delt with. Onto the electrical issues!!!!! Ill start with the Heater the left blower was working on low and seemed to be only blowing out one side of the defrost. I pulled both blowers (Right side was fun!!! Do ya think Jag could use any more fuses or relays??) put 12v to the left side fan works fine hooked up toggle and installed a blower resistor from one of my wrecks (temp fix and freakin ugly!!). The right side on the other hand was submersed in water and SIEZED!!!! After a few hours of fluid filming and working the motor I got it working drilled a small hole in the bottom and installed a drain (Id rather have a wet floor mat than a f***ked blower) and conected it to same toggle. I now have both fans working on high and am not freezing anymore at least. I would like to solve this problem. The dash controls do nothing no low med high fan no temp control no vent control etc. I have no vacuum to the servos on the blower units so I am assuming I have a problem with them as well. Not sure where to go next I have read alot about this problem and am leaning towards a proccesor problem or control (in the dash) problem. Anyone out there that have any thoughts on this matter I would really like to at least determine what is not working before I start ripping my dash apart while scratching my head!

Old 02-17-2012, 08:12 PM
Veteran Member
Received 903 Likes on 511 Posts

There was a common issue with early XJ40s with the heater control panel dying. I don't know if yours is the same but should be straight forward to check.