XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine Choking for Fuel?

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2014, 09:11 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Choking for Fuel?

So i am relatively new to owning cars in general... really new to keeping up a jaguar so I was hoping to get some advice and maybe a little help... about a week ago I had hopped in the car to head to the other side of town to go see a movie with the girl and started noticing at first a lack of power not much but just enough to notice. Got a couple more miles down the road and the motor started acting up really bad any time i pressed the accelerator down more than a litlle bit the motor would rev and then drop down to 500-600 rpm and try to die unless i dropped the peddle at which point the car would go back to normal idle now as i went further it got worse so at the next light i pulled off and stopped in a parking lot. I left it idling in park and it was doing the same thing though it would rev higher before doing it (figure it was due to less resistance), i was starting to worry because paying for a tow and to have it fixed around here is not cheap especially for a college kid. I shut of the car for a minute to let it sit and see if that would help at all( i have had some other strange things show up that turning the car off and back on has fixed pretty much permanently)at any rate i hopped back in with the hood open and started it up and it seemed fine was running up to 4k rpm without a hitch so i closed up the hood and started to head out and about half a mile later it started again so i new i had trouble. I managed to limp it home. I wasn't really positive but from my limited experience it seemed like it was choking out on me so i started simple i changed out the fuel filter and while that helped it didn't fix it... so i borrowed a friends fuel pressure gauge and fittings only to find that out of 50 fittings none of them fit. So i was hoping that someone with more