XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Few problems on 82 xj6

Old 08-22-2010, 11:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Few problems on 82 xj6

Hi All,

I'm new here and hope to get some help on a few issues on my Jaguar xj6 with 83k I just got. All in all it runs great but there are a few issues.

1. Engine missing slightly. Car has new plugs according to previous owner, could it be cap and rotor? What usually is the cause of this?

2. Heater/AC Blower Motor does not seem to work. When I flip the fan switch, I just hear the vent servos make noise but no fan. What could this be? Common problem?

I am new to the series III xj6 as I had a 94 before this one. Are there any issues that I should know about? Suggestions as to caring for this car?

Car runs and rides well for the age, I'd just like to cure the miss, fix the blower issue and properly care for the car.

Thanks to all for your help!

Cheers!

Old 08-23-2010, 08:00 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,746 Likes on 7,099 Posts

Engine miss: more details, please. When do you feel it? What speed? Hot/cold engine?

Blowers: replace the fuses and clean the fuse contacts, report back if no help. (Note: the 50amp Lucas fuses are replaced by 30amp USA fuses)

Cheers
DD

Old 08-23-2010, 08:58 AM

Hello,

Miss seems to happen at any temp. I notice it most at idle and when first taking off. Seems once the car is moving you can't notice it. I only notice it at IDLE and when starting off.

I can feel the miss when I hold my hand over the tail pipe.

Thanks for any info you have.

Old 08-23-2010, 02:28 PM
Exclamation

Hello,

Another update on the miss and the heater issue.

1. Miss is so bad upon start (cold engine) that the car will stall unless it is heats up first before moving.

2. Fuses all ok on heater/ac blower. Blower does not work.

Old 08-23-2010, 10:49 PM
Veteran Member