XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Flushing Coolant/ Rust in the expansion tank

Old 09-01-2014, 01:00 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Flushing Coolant/ Rust in the expansion tank

I wanted to share a "magical way" I discovered to flush the coolant and get rid of any rust you might have in the system for a 1985 xj6.
(I am new to this so excuse me if I don't use the right names for things, but I will describe them to my best ability)

This is what I did:

1. Opened the expansion tank, removed the plug on the side of the engine block and drained everything that was inside.

2. Put a garden hose inside the expansion tank, controlled the water flow so it overflows the expansion tank a little, and started the engine. (I ran it for about 10 minutes at different RPMs, make sure you don't run out of water in the expansion tank because at higher RPMs the system will spit out more water than it takes in).

3. Close the cylinder block plug, fill the system with distilled water, and drive for about 15 minutes or until the car reaches around 90 C. Wait for it to cool down and drain everything the same way.

4. Disconnected the radiator hose from the bottom of the car that goes down to the horizontal tube, on the left side as you are facing the car. There will be at least about third of a gallon water left. (If you lift the driver side of the vehicle more, more water will come out)

5. Reconnected the radiator hose and with the cylinder block plug out start the car. Watch the temperature, run it only for brief periods so that water inside will evaporate.

6. Closed the cylinder block plug, and slowly filled the system with Metal Rescue. (THIS IS THE MAGIC PART) I bought three gallons Metal Rescue from Home Depot after doing some online searching because my expansion tank was full of rust. I drove the car for a day and a half at least three times a day to keep it warm.