Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

my first jag and questions.

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2010, 11:11 AM
Veteran Member
Received 189 Likes on 160 Posts
Default my first jag and questions.

Okay, I traded a bunch of old truck parts for an 87 XJ6 that doesn't run. It isn't in the best shape but it doesn't look too bad...from a distance.
The interior is pretty sad with the vinyl coming apart and a piece of the headliner missing. But what really surprised me was that the dash was a wood sticker and not real wood? I always thought that was a trademark of Jag's was the real wood dash?
Well, I'm new to them, so I may be a wealth of misinformation.
The engine turns over well and sounds like it has good compression. Oil is clean, antifreeze needs changing but is there. Engine has no spark, so the first thing I checked was the coil. I have constant power to both sides of the coil even while cranking, so please, correct me if I'm wrong but my assumption is the ignition module is probably bad? I've already pulled it off and the aluminum looks like it's seen better days. I'm searching for a reasonably priced one now (part stores are listing them at almost $500!)
I found one on Ebay, it is also a Lucas ignition amp AB14, but has a red tag instead of silver and 2 more wires? Are these interchangeable?

Old 04-14-2010, 07:39 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,749 Likes on 7,100 Posts

It should have real wood. Sounds like someone has added a fake overlay.

Both sides of the coil should have voltage with the CEI--Constant energy igntion. The "-" side should flicker while you crank, though.

The main component of the ignition amplifier is the module, which is a GM part....AC Delco number D1906...about $40 or so. Easy to replace.

Do you have an ohm meter? If so you can check the coil.

I'll find the CEI checklist and post back.

Cheers
DD

Old 04-14-2010, 07:41 PM
Veteran Member

This is right from the Jaguar shop manual

The test assumes a fully charged battery