XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1991 XJS Convertible PS hose size?

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2012, 01:18 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1991 XJS Convertible PS hose size?

Hello all, I'm new to jags and am working on my neighbors XJS 5.3 HE so that I get to drive it. I've been laboring at removing the faulty High Pressure Hose and finally got it out after much struggle including dropping the rack partially and inching the hose out by degrees for over an hour with a stubby 13mm.

Happy days!

But the bad part is this: I have a replacement hose, but when I go to install it in the pump side first I find out the nut is too big for the pump! Does any one have any tips or help? Anything would be appreciated. I'm used to very efficient and straightforward German and Japanese cars of my own so this sort of frustration is new to me personally but not unknown. (I watch enough Top Gear...)

The new hose is a Edelmann from Rockauto.com which i got for an 1992 because that is the year he told me and I did not double check the door plaque but ran VIN and got 1991 (MFD 1990 via plaque). Was there any change in pumps from 1990 to 1992?

Thanks guys, have a great day.

Old 09-08-2012, 01:27 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,749 Likes on 7,100 Posts

I don't know what's going on with XJS power steering hoses. A few months ago I ordered a replacement for an '89 XJS from a well known supplier and it caused me abject grief. It was theoretically an "updated" design but it was so different from the original I had great difficulty making it work.

Others have reported the same, but not consistantly.

Next time...if there is a next time....I'll just take the old hose to a hydraulic shop and have a new one made....duplicated.... on the spot

Sorry I can't answer your question about pumps but hopefully a bit of commiseration was helpful :-)

Cheers
DD

The following users liked this post:
Jaghelper (09-08-2012)
Old 09-08-2012, 01:33 PM

Originally Posted by Doug