XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

91 XJS Aux cooling fan quit, need help with R&R

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2014, 06:39 PM
Received 18 Likes on 12 Posts
Default 91 XJS Aux cooling fan quit, need help with R&R

I need help removing and replacing the electric fan motor. It's not in Kirby's book. The metal support rods that go thru the fan shroud appear to have nuts on the inside of the shroud. Can I just loosen these nuts and remove the fan & motor with the support cage as an assembly? What else do I need to remove? Any tips or advice would be appreciated.
I searched this forum, but could not find any how-to. Also, has anybody found an inexpensive exact fit replacement motor with links to actual parts or part numbers? I would also ask for a better how-to on the A/C mod. with pictures so it will come on with the AC. There are mentions, but not enough detail for me to try it.
I have lots of experience on other cars, but have owned this XJS for less than a year, and I am a relative novice on this engine.

Old 08-25-2014, 12:54 PM
Received 209 Likes on 133 Posts

You have to remove the whole fan shroud to replace the aux fan.
As you notice, the nuts which hold the bracket is on the radiator side of the shroud.

The motor is quite expensive.
If you are not a worshipper of the original equipment, you can use a universal fan.
The shroud has an opening of approx 11.5", so you can fit a universal 12" fan cover perfectly.
Of course the fan blade is too large, so you can replace the blade with the one from 10" or 11" fan or you can cut the 12" blade to fit. I chose the latter way.
You can easily fix the fan with some cable ties.

In this case, you will have to cut the cover a bit to clear the fan switch and the left radiator upper hose.