XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

AJ6 3.6 rough idle, lazy cold start?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2020, 08:14 PM
Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts
Default AJ6 3.6 rough idle, lazy cold start?

Hi.
I'm new to Jaguars, so for my first one, I bought a 30-year-old XJ-S with close to 200,000km on it, without getting it inspected.
It has already cost me heaps to get the rear brake discs replaced and the power steering pump and rack rebuilt and the handbrake fixed... so at least those aspects of it are good now.....
I want to ask what to expect from the 3.6 AJ6 engine in terms of idle and startup. I know there are a bunch of variations of this motor, and between their differences and the amount of posts about V12 cars that contain 'AJ6 Engineering' , it's hard to find info.

My engine runs smoothly under load (I had the centre muffler boxes removed so I can definitely hear it), but it doesn't idle as smoothly. It has an intermittent stumble, not a permanent misfiring of one cylinder. You can see the engine shaking when it misses, even if you raise the engine speed above idle. I have the Lucas 9CU engine management, and my cylinder compressions and spark plugs seem okay. Fuel system cleaning pills added to my petrol, cleaning my airflow meter and doing some hard driving have not helped. Is this just how these motors are, or are they meant to be the kind of engine where you can balance a coin on it while it''s running?

I've also noticed (and this may be unrelated) that the car doesn't start from cold in the manner that I would expect. It cranks for a bit long then shambles into life at low RPM, steadying out and climbing to idle speed after a few seconds. I would expect a bit more enthusiasm - a flare of engine revs to build oil pressure, gradually settling down to idle. The car only comes close to doing this if it was started within the last few hours. There's also no air pressure in the fuel tank when opening the filler cap - is that also normal?