XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Another "cranks no start" thread

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2013, 11:50 PM
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Another "cranks no start" thread

Hi all,

First of all, let me apologize for spawning another "no start" thread. I see several folks that must have replied to hundreds of these things. However, I didn't want to hijack someone else's thread and cannot find one that is specific to where I'm at.

I'm sorry.

For those of you that don't read all of the new member intros, I just picked up an '85 XJS HE. It ran when I bought it, but very poorly - I trailered it home. Played with it a bit, found it was very hard to start and would die often. Drivable, but barely, and died during the drive - had to wait for it to cool down to restart.

It had been sitting for quite some time and I have some experience with older cars like this. I have an '80 Porsche 928 which has pretty much the same fuel injection setup so I know that first step is to replace all fuel hoses to avoid car-b-que. Along with it I figured to replace distributor cap, rotor, plug wires, cracked vacuum hoses, brakes, etc. Went to a single low impedance coil.

The fuel injection harness was cooked. Not a surprise so I built a new one, TXL wire and new connectors. Sent the injectors out to be cleaned and flow tested.

Pulled the distributor and got the mechanical advance working again. It was glued together with old varnish that used to be oil and / or grease sauteed in engine vapors.

I think that's most of the engine related stuff. After putting it all back together, here is where I'm at. No start - not a shock with all the stuff I messed with.

Drained all the old gas, cleaned the sump tank and filter out. Icky. Flushed the fuel lines with clean gas, then replaced all the rubber hoses with fresh injection hose.

- I have spark. Strong, blue spark at the plugs.
- What I don't think I have is fuel.