XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Brakes question

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2017, 04:25 PM
Received 123 Likes on 79 Posts
Default Brakes question

I'm having a problem bleeding the brakes on my 1994 XJS V-12. Here's a bit of history:
1. I've bled brakes on Jags many times, so I'm not a total newbie to the procedure in general.
2. This car new to me. I've just replaced all 4 rotors, pads on all 4 corners. Something is a little strange, though.... the rotors I removed were the original ones, as were the pads. The weird thing is the front pads were almost gone, but the back had 80% of their meat. I know the front wear faster, but this doesn't look right. I think the PO was driving it with non-functioning rear brakes and did not realize it.
3. Here is my problem now and why I think the rear brakes have not been working: I'm getting no brake fluid to either rear caliper. I've disconnected the lines all the way from the master cylinder to the back of the car and blown them out. They are clear.
4. Fluid will drip out of the brake lines when disconnected from both front calipers.
5. Fluid also will drip out of the MC from the center port (the one which supplies the rear calipers) when I disconnect the brake line from it.
6. The valve which mounts on the right side on the fender wall near the RH air cleaner is not clogged.

Not sure were to go from here. I'm open to ideas... I just think I'm missing something obvious here. Questions:

A) Is there a specific procedure to bleed brakes on this car (it does have ABS)?
B) Does the car need to be running to bleed brakes??
C) Is this a MC problem?

Thanks for any help!

Old 06-04-2017, 05:08 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,122 Likes on 730 Posts

Originally Posted by drbill
I'm having a problem bleeding the brakes on my 1994 XJS V-12. Here's a bit of history:
1. I've bled brakes on Jags many times, so I'm not a total newbie to the procedure in general.