XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Buying an '85 XJS.... it needs some work.

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2014, 03:40 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying an '85 XJS.... it needs some work.

So I am currently pretty close to buying an '85 XJS in very good condition with one minor problem; it has a "knock" and needs a cylinder head to be replaced, due to a dropped valve seat.

I have seen the car in person, heard the sound, and been assured by the seller that new cylinder heads are included and the fix is simple enough. He also will throw in some sort of custom tool he picked up for removing the heads.

The car won't be my daily driver (I am a student and don't really need to drive anywhere) and I have the time to work on it as well as a mechanically-inclined friend who is willing to help me both with his time and his tools.

My question is: is this fix feasible for me? I have little experience with cars. I will take my time and learn the engine through the shop manual and online resources. I have heard many competing voices telling me either yes or no that I can do this; and people have very different opinions of how difficult the operation is. Any other help or advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

Old 08-03-2014, 06:28 PM
Veteran Member
Received 3,740 Likes on 2,593 Posts

Originally Posted by Gary the Wombat
So I am currently pretty close to buying an '85 XJS in very good condition with one minor problem; it has a "knock" and needs a cylinder head to be replaced, due to a dropped valve seat.

I have seen the car in person, heard the sound, and been assured by the seller that new cylinder heads are included and the fix is simple enough. He also will throw in some sort of custom tool he picked up for removing the heads.

The car won't be my daily driver (I am a student and don't really need to drive anywhere) and I have the time to work on it as well as a mechanically-inclined friend who is willing to help me both with his time and his tools.