XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

ew speakers for a 96 xjs convertible

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2013, 12:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ew speakers for a 96 xjs convertible

hello everyone and thanks in advance for your help!! I'm a newbie to the forum so i hope i am doing this right - anyhow i need to replace the speakers in my 1996 xjs converible 2+2 and have no clue on how to remove the old speakers! anyone have an idea or has anyone done this project?picyures would be great too!! thanks!!

Old 10-15-2013, 01:40 PM
Vee
Veteran Member
Received 1,510 Likes on 1,176 Posts

You won't need pictures.

For the front ones, you will have to remove the door cards. It's easy enough to do once you slide the trim back from the front of the door handle and undo the screw there.

After that you remove the screws at the bottom of the door and undo the clips the rest of the way around, then just lift the door card. Be careful, since there will still be some wire connected at the bottom. You can undo that connector, if needed.

The back ones are even easier...I think.

Pop out the plastic button which gets it's access blocked from the quarterwindows. (look at the top of that rear panel through the quarterglass and you'll see it) Once that's out of the way, you just have to separate the side from the trim along the edge of the door. The rest just lifts up. You'll probably end up destroying at least one of those plastic fir connectors, so you may as well order replacements now.

It's tougher to work on these panels because it's just easier to not disconnect the seatbelts to totally disconnect these panels.

The OEM speakers are 5-1/4". Any 5-1/4" will fit, do not be concerned with the depth of speakers. No one makes one deep enough to be a problem.

I learned that you can upgrade to 6-1/2" if the cutout dimension is small enough. (I used Alpines, which just fit) I believe the cutout cannot exceed 5".