XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

I guess this goodbye

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2016, 12:40 PM
Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts
Default I guess this goodbye

Well i am not a rich person, and i am not a mechanic. Looks as if i really messed up this time buy cracking the tube that runs to the AC evaporator. I was replacing the hose when the bottom spanner sliped, the hose fitting was on sooooo. Tight....evidenty it is now leaking pretty good. With air pressure on the system i can barely get my fingertips to the firewall where its leaking...i can feel the air coming out.....this i think is way over my head...only option i see which breaks my heart is to sell my 88 xjs...thanks to everyone that has helped me over the years......you fellas are a great bunch of chaps.......

Cheers...............and God Speed..

The following users liked this post:
paulyling (03-14-2016)
Old 03-13-2016, 02:12 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,399 Likes on 1,880 Posts

Aww. hold on a bit. sleep on it at least a night, A few is better.

As I understand it, it is the Ac line. That is freon leaking away.
The only down fall, is no AC. Other than that, it is still a nice looking and running car.

But, it may be the Ranco valve line that is busted. No fun to replace, but far better than the evaporator itself.

And, even that is doable. Major task, but doable.

Carl

Old 03-13-2016, 03:58 PM

Originally Posted by JagCad
Aww. hold on a bit. sleep on it at least a night, A few is better.

As I understand it, it is the Ac line. That is freon leaking away.
The only down fall, is no AC. Other than that, it is still a nice looking and running car.

But, it may be the Ranco valve line that is busted. No fun to replace, but far better than the evaporator itself.

And, even that is doable. Major task, but doable.

Really? ???

Carl
really???

Old 03-13-2016, 04:03 PM

Originally Posted by Qgregg
really???