XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

imagination and ideas needed

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2013, 04:24 AM
Veteran Member
Received 189 Likes on 160 Posts
Default imagination and ideas needed

I need some help, or perhaps some insight for a proposed project I am undertaking. I am a respiratory therapist, and at one of my jobs I work with some long term ventilator patients. These patients have varying degrees of illness, but in a nutshell, they have little or no ability to move. They are paralyzed.

There is one patient in particular who I decided to try working with. He is 22 years old, and has only the use of his voice and facial muscles and has been this way sice age 3. He is a car-buff! I mentioned to him that I own a convertible XJS and his eyes lit up like fire.

So my goal is to find a way to give him a ride. It sounds much more simple than it is. Because he has no muscle control, he doesn't have the ability to even hold his head up. Every part of his body is...well...floppy, and therefore needs support and/or restraint.

I was thinking that if I removed the passenger seat and mounted a racing bucket it would cocoon him. If I recall, they have an attachment for the helmet in the headrest which could be modified to maintain his head position. His ventilator could be buckled in the back seat easily enough and has a 6 hour battery supply.

So.....any ideas or suggestions? Would a racing bucket seat work or is there something better? I'm listening. In the meantime, try to think of how it must feel for him to have never rode in anything besides a wheelchair van and what riding in a convertible would feel like!

The following 4 users liked this post by JameyXJ6:
daxter1987 (05-09-2013), Deecutts360 (03-02-2013), plums (03-01-2013), Stillill (03-01-2013)
Old 02-28-2013, 04:50 AM
Veteran Member
Received 664 Likes on 572 Posts

Hi Jamey,