XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Master Cylinder problems/questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2017, 08:41 AM
Received 54 Likes on 30 Posts
Default Master Cylinder problems/questions

Hi there folks, my brake booster seems to have gone again, and even though the last time I replaced it I used used parts from a high mileage car, I can't imagine two would go within two years of eachother, so I'm assuming my master cylinder is to blame. I'm having trouble tracking one down that doesn't cost a small fortune. I've seen that some people have used units from 1993 Mitsubishis, but the location of the lines on the top would require fabrication of new lines and I've never done that before. I've also heard of people using a ford truck unit in their cars, but can't find any specs/details on this. I was wondering if I could use a mc from a pre abs Series III and just fit the nozzles that allow the use of an external reservoir? Are there any other MCs that swap in? Anyone who's done the Mitsubishi swap, how hard is it to adapt the lines? Other than that anyone got a reliable source for an MC that doesn't cost an arm and a leg? Thanks in advance guys.

Old 05-18-2017, 09:28 AM
Veteran Member
Received 9,089 Likes on 5,352 Posts

What is your car's engine size please? Has the car got ABS or not? Exactly what are the symptoms?

Old 05-18-2017, 09:46 AM

Originally Posted by Greg in France
What is your car's engine size please? Has the car got ABS or not? Exactly what are the symptoms?
It's the 5.3 V12 pre ABS. Loud hissing, pedal goes to the floor, little to no braking power.

Old 05-18-2017, 10:50 AM
Veteran Member

Originally Posted by Dymaxxion
It's the 5.3 V12 pre ABS. Loud hissing, pedal goes to the floor, little to no braking power.