XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

xjs gas tank questions

Old 05-27-2015, 11:44 AM
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default xjs gas tank questions

Hello everyone, as the title says I have a few gas tank questions but first a quick intro;
My father owns a 1989 red jaguar xjs 5.3l v12 convertible. It's a nice car, as I'm sure you know. 64k original miles. He's owned it since 2001. He bought it at a used car dealership and it clearly had little maint. Done to it. Up until now I've never been interested in the car but I'm 24 now and a technician by trade (toyota) so we've been digging into the car now. The car has never really ran "right". Erratic idle, sputters at times, hard starts, etc. He's always wanted to clean the fuel system and we're getting to it now, injectors are out being cleaned, new fuel lines under the hood, etc
Upon taking the surge (little) tank out we found a good deal of rust.
Upon taking the sending unit out of the tank we could see rust so now it's time to take the tank out. We removed the lines, and black metal panel. The filler neck is stuck on so we're working on removing that. Any tips? What else comes off? Any straps or bolts we arnt seeing?
Also after some searching I found someone put a plastic tank in there's and made it work. We would love to do that! Anyone know if it can be done of my dad's specific model?? Any tips,sughestions, etc from people who have been in out situation?? After researching we arnt the biggest fans of cleaning and reseal in due to the baffles inside and we read a few horror stories. Also a resales tank from jagbits is 1200 or so. Again we would rather a plastic tank so suggestions very welcomed! Is that surge tank really needed? What's it's purpose? Would like to eliminate it... we are from NH if anyone is local let me know.
Thanks in advance everyone!
I'm new to the site and I will be on here often and asking lots of questions to get this thing running like new again!

Old 05-27-2015, 12:34 PM
Veteran Member