XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Is the XJS only available with an auto transmission?

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2015, 03:30 AM
CXJ
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is the XJS only available with an auto transmission?

Hi,

I'm new to Jaguars and have always liked the XK8 and XJS and of course the E-type but I'm not Bill Gates.

I passed on the XK8 because I found out it only came with an auto transmission. What a waste.

Now I'm researching the XJS and it seems the V12 is only auto as well? Is it so? If so I wonder why all these cars with powerful engines come only with auto transmissions? It's a waste.

I think the inline 6 came with a five speed. But is it worth bothering with the inline 6 car? It seems given the weight it would be under powered and they don't even seem that much cheaper than the V12.

Which brings me to the next topic. When I looked at XJS cars a couple of years ago the prices were much better. Now they are going for the same or more as XK8s. If I would have to put up with an auto transmission and at these prices I might be inclined to go with the XK8. I like the XJS design better as the XK8 looks a bit soft. The XJS is more muscular. But I hear the XK8 is miles more reliable.

I have to say things are not looking up to reach my goal of buying a GT. I want to get a proper GT or luxury coupe. I want a more classic car. Not interested on anything too new. But it has to be rear wheel drive and manual and a V8 or V12. Would consider a V6 or inline 6 depending on the case.

But it's harder than I thought. Everything is either auto transmission or front wheel drive or not really worth it, like a Ford Capri.

Looked at Mercedes W126 SEC but only auto trans. XK8, same. Don't like BMWs. Don't want french.

So it seems my best bet may be buy American, like a Mustang. But in Europe I would rather stick with an European car. Also you just can't compare the level of finishing and comfort of a Mercedes or Jaguar to a U.S. car.