XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

07-09 XKR Dynamic Mode Engaged

 
  #21  
Old 08-09-2013, 06:00 PM
djgold's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 165
Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

I just pulled fuse 14 and it works! The car feels stiffer and the steering seems more direct. Also NO codes light up in the dash. Thanks Mike, you just added dynamic mode to my '07. I booked a date with my audio/video expert to have a switch put it. Easy to do through a fuse. Thanks again...
 
The following 3 users liked this post by djgold:
amcdonal86 (08-10-2013), guy (08-19-2013), hawaii (08-09-2013)
  #22  
Old 08-09-2013, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maui
Posts: 474
Received 95 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

Where exactly is that fuse again? Thanks for being the guinea pig! Very cool. Post up pics when you do the switch when you can.
 

Last edited by hawaii; 08-09-2013 at 08:36 PM.
  #23  
Old 08-10-2013, 08:24 AM
djgold's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 165
Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by hawaii View Post
Where exactly is that fuse again? Thanks for being the guinea pig! Very cool. Post up pics when you do the switch when you can.
In the fuse box to the left of your left foot on the driver's side. Will post pics when I have the switch installed for your viewing pleasure...
 
The following users liked this post:
badicedog (07-11-2019)
  #24  
Old 08-10-2013, 08:55 AM
Mike V's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Beantown, MA
Posts: 581
Received 103 Likes on 81 Posts
Default Sweet

Originally Posted by djgold View Post
I just pulled fuse 14 and it works! The car feels stiffer and the steering seems more direct. Also NO codes light up in the dash. Thanks Mike, you just added dynamic mode to my '07. I booked a date with my audio/video expert to have a switch put it. Easy to do through a fuse. Thanks again...
Hey, that's awesome! Looks like my thought process took the long way a round and you got the best solution djgold.

I saw someone mount a switch for something else in the middle of the cup holders where they form a V. Could be the ideal location for the "07-09 dynamic switch".
 
  #25  
Old 08-10-2013, 08:51 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA USA
Posts: 6,290
Received 452 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

Damn! I am itching to do this now!!!!
 
  #26  
Old 08-11-2013, 08:20 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA USA
Posts: 6,290
Received 452 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

Wow, I just did it. I wouldn't say it's like night and day, but it's definitely a "50%" improvement over the steering feel before. Much more precise steering at highway speeds. Also, there is much less shaking/loss of composure in the front end when cornering aggressively over uneven pavement. I had attributed this to the car's GT nature and that mine is a convertible, but it appears to be somewhat due to poor suspension tuning!

Is there any harm done by leaving fuse 14 unplugged permanently? Will my struts go out sooner?

Now all we need to do is figure out how to stop the transmission from changing gears when in manual mode.
 
  #27  
Old 08-12-2013, 08:39 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA USA
Posts: 6,290
Received 452 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

Just drove to work without Fuse 14 this morning. I have to say, the ride quality is pretty darn bad without Fuse 14. Even smooth roads feel bumpy. I can see why Jaguar added the CATS system. However, for a spirited drive, I could definitely see wanting the whole system disabled.

I wonder where a good place to put the switch would be. I was thinking on the left of the dash near where the fog lamp switches are.
 
  #28  
Old 08-18-2013, 12:13 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 15
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

So I just had the ADCM disabled from my 07 XKR but the shop also left the shock connectors unplugged. I don't have a fault code on the dash, either. Can any one tell me if it matters whether the connectors get plugged back in up front? I don't like the idea of driving around with loose wires. Many thanks,
 
  #29  
Old 08-18-2013, 10:51 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA USA
Posts: 6,290
Received 452 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

I don't know why people can't just leave it at unplugging a fuse. So many threads here, people unplug the fuse, then unplug every component in the system. Is there a reason for that?

(The power antenna thread is another example.)
 
  #30  
Old 08-19-2013, 01:21 AM
Mike V's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Beantown, MA
Posts: 581
Received 103 Likes on 81 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 07JagXKR View Post
So I just had the ADCM disabled from my 07 XKR but the shop also left the shock connectors unplugged. I don't have a fault code on the dash, either. Can any one tell me if it matters whether the connectors get plugged back in up front? I don't like the idea of driving around with loose wires. Many thanks,
As long as the ADCM behind the back seats is unplugged you can leave the shock tops plugged in (that's how mine is).

Another option is leaving everything plugged in and just removing fuse 14 from the driver's foot well fuse box. This method worked for djgold.

The only way you get a dash warning is if only the shock top connectors are unplugged and the ADCM remains connected.
 
  #31  
Old 08-19-2013, 07:52 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA USA
Posts: 6,290
Received 452 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

I think the last piece of the puzzle to make it very close to dynamic mode in the 5.0L XKRs is a limited slip diff (where can you buy the Quaife one?). I just tried turning off traction control completely and accelerating briskly from a light, but the rear tires (actually, just one rear tire) lit up even without really giving it the beans (50% throttle max). Argh!!!
 
  #32  
Old 08-19-2013, 08:28 AM
GritsNCornbread's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Posts: 120
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

You can get one at Eurotoys. It's on my short list as well.

Limited Slip Differential for Jaguar XKR
 
  #33  
Old 08-19-2013, 09:55 AM
djgold's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 165
Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

As I posted before: I think you'll enjoy the price.

Quaife Rear Diff - Jaguar XKR – Jacks Transmissions LLC
 
The following 2 users liked this post by djgold:
amcdonal86 (08-19-2013), GritsNCornbread (08-19-2013)
  #34  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:08 AM
Mike V's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Beantown, MA
Posts: 581
Received 103 Likes on 81 Posts
Default Quaife

I got mine from a VW tuner... just google the part number QDF3W and you'll find the cheapest offering.

I paid $1100 in 2010 and $300 to install. Been loving it ever since. I've posted some b/4 and after donut vids in another thread and launch has significantly improved with the nannies off but you still need to maintain throttle control.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Mike V:
amcdonal86 (08-19-2013), GritsNCornbread (08-19-2013)
  #35  
Old 08-19-2013, 06:53 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 15
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you, Mike V.
Much appreciate your insight!
Regards,
Richard.
 
  #36  
Old 08-30-2013, 06:39 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Fransico
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Dealer said car computers are so complicated he would not mess with removing fuses or unplugging systems. Anyone talk to a dealer and heard similar advise?

Is there a Jaguar tech support number for owners?
 
  #37  
Old 08-31-2013, 09:27 AM
Mike V's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Beantown, MA
Posts: 581
Received 103 Likes on 81 Posts
Default Warranties and dealerships

For those concerned with warranties or what the dealership reaction will be:
DO NOT MODIFY YOUR CARS IN ANY WAY WHATSOEVER!

For those not concerned with warranty or the dealership standards:
HAVE AT IT!

I'm tired of discussing mods and someone being "the voice of reason"

If your that concerned, just stay stock and let us others have our fun.
 
  #38  
Old 08-31-2013, 08:44 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA USA
Posts: 6,290
Received 452 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

I had to plug the fuse back in today. The ride quality was too sucky for everyday use. Now the drive is pretty floaty and mushier, though.

How exactly would I go about wiring a toggle switch to mimic plugging in and removing that fuse? Can somebody show me the hardware I'd need online somewhere? It seems like a toggle switch would be easy to maneuver into the dash somewhere (there are some gaps between the steering column and dash) so that it could be undone when selling the vehicle, etc.
 
  #39  
Old 08-31-2013, 08:50 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA USA
Posts: 6,290
Received 452 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

Blue Ox Fuse ByPass Switch for Towed Vehicles - 2 ATM Mini-Fuse Blue Ox Tow Bar Wiring BX88273

This is the closest I've found to what I think I'd need. Isn't there a way I don't need to pay $105 for it?!
 
  #40  
Old 09-01-2013, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maui
Posts: 474
Received 95 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

Just go to radio shack and explain what you want to do. They could probably set you up with something under twenty bucks.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 07-09 XKR Dynamic Mode Engaged


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: