Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Considering XK vs SL550

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2014, 07:37 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Considering XK vs SL550

Hi All,

Just found this place and thought i would introduce myself and get some good biased opinions in the process.

The kiddo is finally 16 so i FINALLY get to back to driving convertibles. I'm starting my search now and have narrowed it down to an SL550 (used circa 2011) or a Jaguar XK (11 or 12 most likely). Having owned a couple of SLK's i can vouch for the lack of reliability of MB's. But boy is it a great convertible with the Airscarf and comfort.

I have no experience with Jaguar. I would love to hear about reliability. How do you like your late model XK? Reviews i have read have been overwelmingly positive but don't tell what its like to live with the car. How good is it with the top down. Lots of wind? How's it to park?

Old 12-20-2014, 07:55 PM

Get the XK I have a Mercedes, and the Jag has style! I love the lines and handling of the Xk. A great car.

Old 12-20-2014, 08:01 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,228 Likes on 788 Posts

Get the Jaguar. Style is awesome. Limited quanity that very few people see.

Reliablity is good if well maintained.

Mercedes are a dime a dozen.

The XK vert has an awesome look.

Old 12-20-2014, 08:32 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,836 Likes on 1,231 Posts

I would suggest you go out a drive a few and see what you think. I don't think you would be disappointed. Welcome to the form and good luck.

Attached Thumbnails Considering XK vs SL550-dsc00079.jpg  
Old 12-20-2014, 08:54 PM
Banned
Received 238 Likes on 180 Posts