XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

CTEK charger question

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2016, 12:56 PM
Received 333 Likes on 201 Posts
Default CTEK charger question

I see a lot of posts on recommending the CTEK charger. My car has 98,000 miles and it has never been on a charger ever and it starts/runs just fine and the battery is running 100%.

So the question is, rather than use the charger, why not fix whatever is causing your car to lose its battery power? I know of another xk that sits for weeks at a time and it starts/runs just fine without being on a charger as well. It just seems like using the charger is masking the real issue of something is draining your battery. I am new to the xk line, but not new to cars. I just never heard of any car in my life needing to be on a charger.

Last edited by michaelodonnell123; 01-19-2016 at 12:59 PM.
The following users liked this post:
jagjeep (01-19-2016)
Old 01-19-2016, 01:09 PM
Banned
Received 238 Likes on 180 Posts

XK's, like a number of the newer cars, have a number of computers and such that draw FAR more power than earlier cars did. That being said unless you were a deep software programmer in the development stage of the program writing there's no way to "address" the underlying reason for the current draws... about the only way to stop the battery from draining would be to disconnect it which then you'd be forced to deal with resetting everything once again.

Old 01-19-2016, 01:13 PM
Veteran Member
Received 664 Likes on 572 Posts

Yes you are new to XK Michael and you will find out sooner or later. It has nothing to do with a problem, though some people do mask a problem with a charger.
These cars do not like a drop in voltage. Your car may start but if you see certain things not working then it's a sure sign the battery is low and not indicative of a problem.
We'll keep an eye out for your first post relating to a electrical problem as the weather gets colder.