XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Instrument Cluster Lights

 
  #1  
Old 02-06-2019, 06:27 PM
arenaej's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Coatesville, PA
Posts: 48
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default Instrument Cluster Lights

I noticed today that the center section of my instrument cluster wasnít illuminated. Itís the section with the clock, fuel gauge, mileage. After about 10 miles, I noticed that it was illuminated as normal. I made a couple of stops and all was normal, then on my way home it darkened again. When itís not illuminated you can see it, but itís sort of ďgrayed outĒ. I have a 2 month old AGM battery and use my CTEK each night. Search didnít help. Ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 02-06-2019, 07:44 PM
jagtoes's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 4,589
Liked 1,261 Times in 956 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by arenaej View Post
I noticed today that the center section of my instrument cluster wasnít illuminated. Itís the section with the clock, fuel gauge, mileage. After about 10 miles, I noticed that it was illuminated as normal. I made a couple of stops and all was normal, then on my way home it darkened again. When itís not illuminated you can see it, but itís sort of ďgrayed outĒ. I have a 2 month old AGM battery and use my CTEK each night. Search didnít help. Ideas?
Take off the Ctek and check the battery voltage after a few hours. 12.6V
 
  #3  
Old 02-06-2019, 08:24 PM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,266
Liked 3,636 Times in 2,164 Posts
Default

It's a fairly common issue with the instrument cluster in the 2007-2009 models unfortunately... age is catching up with them...
 
  #4  
Old 02-06-2019, 09:05 PM
arenaej's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Coatesville, PA
Posts: 48
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

If I find a replacement, is it plug and play? Will it show my mileage or that of the donor car? Thanks.
 
  #5  
Old 02-06-2019, 09:13 PM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,266
Liked 3,636 Times in 2,164 Posts
Default

No, definitely not plug & play, and even if you do get it programmed to your car it will still show the VIN and mileage of the donor.

I think someone with some electronics repair know-how would be able to check the LCD and clean / re-do the ribbon cable connections to the screen itself.

Or in the worst case replacing the screen would be possible, if a spare unit could be located.

I seem to recall someone already looked into this, I can't remember where I saw it though...
 
The following users liked this post: Cambo
arenaej (02-06-2019)
  #6  
Old 02-06-2019, 09:21 PM
Stuart S's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta suburbs
Posts: 5,128
Liked 2,138 Times in 1,389 Posts
Default

Is your CTEK set to Winter Mode (Snowflake Icon)? If not, your AGM battery isn't getting fully charged. Winter Mode is the AGM charging profile, even in the Summer. Your OEM alternator and voltage regulator were designed for flooded batteries, not AGM.
 
The following users liked this post: Stuart S
arenaej (02-06-2019)
  #7  
Old 02-06-2019, 09:46 PM
arenaej's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Coatesville, PA
Posts: 48
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I just did another search and found the answer. Cambo, you are correct. The center lcd connects with a ribbon cable. Replacement is possible. Since it’s working and still visible even when it’s dim I think i’ll live with it for now.

Stuart, My CTEK is set to winter mode always. Thanks.
 
  #8  
Old 02-06-2019, 09:54 PM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,266
Liked 3,636 Times in 2,164 Posts
Default

I missed the mention of the battery. Why did you put an AGM in this car? It's not meant to have one.... AGM's should only be used in cars where an AGM is the original fitment.

AGM batteries require a different charging method than a conventional lead acid battery, the alternator in the XK is designed to charge a regular lead acid battery, it will overcharge an AGM.

Conversely I have seen some crazy stuff happen to the electronics in cars when an AGM was fitted in place of a standard lead acid battery, after putting the correct battery in the car, everything went back to normal.

It's a common misconception that AGM is better. No! it's only better if the electrical system in the car was designed for it.
 
The following users liked this post: Cambo
guy (02-07-2019)
  #9  
Old 02-06-2019, 10:05 PM
arenaej's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Coatesville, PA
Posts: 48
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cambo View Post
I missed the mention of the battery. Why did you put an AGM in this car? It's not meant to have one.... AGM's should only be used in cars where an AGM is the original fitment.

AGM batteries require a different charging method than a conventional lead acid battery, the alternator in the XK is designed to charge a regular lead acid battery, it will overcharge an AGM.

Conversely I have seen some crazy stuff happen to the electronics in cars when an AGM was fitted in place of a standard lead acid battery, after putting the correct battery in the car, everything went back to normal.

It's a common misconception that AGM is better. No! it's only better if the electrical system in the car was designed for it.
I suppose Iím the victim of a battery salesman and some conflicting info I read somewhere.
 
  #10  
Old 02-07-2019, 08:17 AM
Ranchero50's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 2,699
Liked 728 Times in 544 Posts
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by arenaej View Post
I just did another search and found the answer. Cambo, you are correct. The center lcd connects with a ribbon cable. Replacement is possible. Since itís working and still visible even when itís dim I think iíll live with it for now.

Stuart, My CTEK is set to winter mode always. Thanks.
Yes, the LCD module is replaceable without damaging the cluster. It's pretty much plug and play. The ones from the same generation XF's are direct swaps. I picked up a cheap cluster off eBay for the gauge sheets and got the LCD module as a bonus.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Ranchero50:
arenaej (02-07-2019), hafren (02-26-2019)
  #11  
Old 02-07-2019, 08:50 AM
arenaej's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Coatesville, PA
Posts: 48
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I found a local repair shop for the instrument cluster:
Powls Speedometer Repair
717-898-2552

If I bring them the cluster it’s $250-$450 plus parts. They have done them before. It may just be the cable, the LCD or a main board repair. They won’t know until they see it. Seems much cheaper than a new cluster. From what I’m seeing here, by the time I remove the cluster it’s not brain surgery to replace the LCD or cable , or both. To quote Ranchero50 on another thread, I’ll “put up with it until I can’t”.

On the AGM battery part of this discussion, I went back to see what I looked at when making that choice. I considered it first because I saw some on this forum with 2007-2009 XK’s that have used them without incident. I see many sources that, when comparing AGM to wet cell say that in vehicles with lot’s of electronics and accessories and vehicles that don’t see regular use (that’s mine), AGM is a viable choice when paired with the proper maintainer. After Re-reading everything, I would make the same choice. I do appreciate the knowledge and opinions expressed here.
 
  #12  
Old 02-07-2019, 09:29 AM
arenaej's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Coatesville, PA
Posts: 48
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ranchero50 View Post
Yes, the LCD module is replaceable without damaging the cluster. It's pretty much plug and play. The ones from the same generation XF's are direct swaps. I picked up a cheap cluster off eBay for the gauge sheets and got the LCD module as a bonus.
Ranchero50 - I sent you a pm. Thanks.
 
  #13  
Old 02-07-2019, 11:46 AM
Ranchero50's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 2,699
Liked 728 Times in 544 Posts
Default

Here's a whole assembly if you want to go silver faced gauges. Their not too difficult to swap out. Truth in advertising they aren't that great at dusk because the back light makes the numbers disappear.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/2009-Jaguar...3zU:rk:12:pf:0
 
The following users liked this post: Ranchero50
arenaej (02-07-2019)
  #14  
Old 02-08-2019, 12:59 PM
arenaej's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Coatesville, PA
Posts: 48
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Here’s a link to the center lcd screen on eBay. It’s new, labeled for XF, but thanks to Ranchero50 we know that it will also fit the XK.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Color-LCD-d...53.m2749.l2649
 
The following users liked this post: arenaej
Queen and Country (02-08-2019)
  #15  
Old 02-08-2019, 01:11 PM
Queen and Country's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Hastings
Posts: 4,918
Liked 1,148 Times in 853 Posts
Default

Wow $40 for an instrument cluster.
This is where owing a Jaguar pays off.
Look what it is for the Aston. $1000, and only one available worldwide. Grand for the Maserati too.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Speedometer...frcectupt=true
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Speedometer....c100752.m1982
 
  #16  
Old 02-08-2019, 04:40 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 1,083
Liked 278 Times in 211 Posts
Default

Just let it die. Then you won't have to worry about seeing the annoying TMPS light show when that inevitably goes to ****.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by shemp:
Queen and Country (02-08-2019), Sean W (02-08-2019)
  #17  
Old 02-08-2019, 05:07 PM
arenaej's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Coatesville, PA
Posts: 48
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by shemp View Post
Just let it die. Then you won't have to worry about seeing the annoying TMPS light show when that inevitably goes to ****.
haha...you are right. I do need to know what my gas situation is😎
 
  #18  
Old 02-08-2019, 05:21 PM
jagtoes's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 4,589
Liked 1,261 Times in 956 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by arenaej View Post

haha...you are right. I do need to know what my gas situation is😎
Just plug in a torque pro and you can see your fuel level from there.
 
  #19  
Old 02-23-2019, 01:21 PM
arenaej's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Coatesville, PA
Posts: 48
Liked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Here’s an update on my instrument cluster display. I decided to do a hard reset as an experiment, so disconnected the battery cables and touched them together for a minute. Re-set the e-brake, windows, etc. The center display was illuminated when I started the car. Ran a bunch of errands, stop and start 5 or 6 times over 35 miles of driving. It stayed illuminated the whole time. Hopefully that’s it. I did order the replacement I found on eBay. It’s on a slow boat from China.
 
  #20  
Old 02-25-2019, 07:13 AM
guy
guy is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 795
Liked 85 Times in 73 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by arenaej View Post
Hereís an update on my instrument cluster display. I decided to do a hard reset as an experiment, so disconnected the battery cables and touched them together for a minute. Re-set the e-brake, windows, etc. The center display was illuminated when I started the car. Ran a bunch of errands, stop and start 5 or 6 times over 35 miles of driving. It stayed illuminated the whole time. Hopefully thatís it. I did order the replacement I found on eBay. Itís on a slow boat from China.
Peculiar that this is my goto resort for any electrical issue on the car. Thank goodness it only takes marginal time to complete.Thanks for following up.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Instrument Cluster Lights


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: