XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Replacing TPMS Sensor

 
  #1  
Old 05-06-2019, 01:51 AM
Geoff.C's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing TPMS Sensor

I recently had an experience that I have never had before - the valve stem from my Rear N/S wheel snapped off rendering the wheel unusable. Fortunately this happened on the drive, at a time when I am due to buy the cat a new set of boots anyway.

I have obtained a replacement part, and intend to ask the tyre fitter to fit it. My question is - does a replacement TPMS sensor need to be programmed to the car, and if so, how do you do it ?
I've read somewhere that the serial number of a sensor needs to be programmed into the TPMS control unit. What are the implications of not doing this and running the car (for a while) with a sensor that is not registered ?

Thanks

Geoff

 
  #2  
Old 05-06-2019, 06:17 AM
pwpacp's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,031
Received 333 Likes on 243 Posts
Default

You've posted in the XK forum but I'm confident the answer will be the same here as well.
Assuming the new sensor is the same frequency (no reason to believe you've picked up the wrong one in your reagon), the module will automatically pick-up the new sensor signal. In the worst case it may require a test of over/under pressure to calibrate but I've never had that issue with the times I've changed TPMS.
Hope that helps.
 
  #3  
Old 05-06-2019, 08:04 AM
MarkyUK's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 668
Received 152 Likes on 107 Posts
Default

Correct, I fitted two new ones of the same MhZ and no issues
 
  #4  
Old 05-06-2019, 08:49 AM
jagtoes's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 4,647
Received 1,293 Likes on 977 Posts
Default

NOTE: If the sensor is replaced on a 'running' wheel, the new sensor identification will be learnt in the first 15 minutes of the vehicle is being driven. If a new sensor is fitted to the spare wheel the identification for that sensor must be programmed into the Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) module using WDS. The identifcation code is provided on a label with the complete assembly and is also printed on the sensor assembly.
 
  #5  
Old 05-06-2019, 06:11 PM
Geoff.C's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Most helpful guys - thanks very much.
The issue does relate to an XK (X150), so im certain the advice here should work for me.

Thanks
geoff
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
tiger_reddy
XF and XFR ( X250 )
14
07-22-2018 02:23 AM
penguin
XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 )
9
01-09-2012 10:22 AM
jeffreyli86
XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 )
4
05-26-2011 12:51 AM
dkeuper
XK / XKR ( X150 )
4
03-20-2011 12:09 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Replacing TPMS Sensor


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: