Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2003 XK8 hard start

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2012, 09:25 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,692 Likes on 1,208 Posts
Default 2003 XK8 hard start

Sorry to intrude on your forum guys. I have done the advanced searches here and the posts indicate a failing fuel pump. I just want to confirm what the issue is before dropping $475.00 on a new fuel pump.

A bit of background for those that haven't seen nor read my posts in the S Type section. I am a shade tree mechanic and have a good understanding of these vehicles, mainly the 3.0 (granny motors).

I am currently helping a fellow member out, 2003 XK8, she appears to be in really nice condition. There are a few issues that follow, if you gurus might want to help us out it would be greatly appreciated.

The owner purchased the vehicle about a month ago, 123k on the clock. The owner stated a hard start condition:

-No codes are present before or after I started wrenching. The fuel trims are in order, meaning nothing off the charts.

When running, fuel pressure is at 55.6 lbs. (according to my OBDwiz
Amazon.com: ScanTool 423001 ElmScan 5 Compact OBD-II Scan Tool and OBDwiz Diagnostic Software with Mini Tool Box (fs): Everything Else Amazon.com: ScanTool 423001 ElmScan 5 Compact OBD-II Scan Tool and OBDwiz Diagnostic Software with Mini Tool Box (fs): Everything Else
). Unfortunately with the OBDwiz as soon as I shut off motor, the computer looses connection within a couple of seconds showing a drop in pressure to 10.2 lbs.

-Turn motor over many, many seconds (maybe about 20/30 seconds) she will fire up and runs smooth. If I turn the key to #II postion wait 2 seconds then crank, she will fire right up without the 20/30 second delay.