XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

25 years old. Too young for an XK?

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2010, 01:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 25 years old. Too young for an XK?

Hi I am almost done my lease on an 07 BMW 335i. I have good credit, good income, and no debt. I'm a single engineer. I was looking at a 07-08 xk or xkr between 50-55k. I live near the beach and a lot of night life. Low crime rate. Looking at Lunar gray and black convert. I can def afford the car and keep the monthly payment 10-15% of my monthly salary. But my only fear is it practical at 25? I don't want the 6 series and porsche isn't me. It's either a used jag xk or lease a new range rover sport (which are all over the place in the summer). When I sat in the jag I felt like a man, where in my bmw I still feel like a boy haha. The xk just isnt a car I see a lot of young professionals driving., Please any advice from xk owners would be appreciated.

Old 01-30-2010, 02:31 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,823 Likes on 3,142 Posts

Hawk, not to question your driving record, but you may find that based on your age, insurance may be more than you are willing to spend. You are right on that cusp of having high rates. So, I would do some looking and see how that compares to other vehicles you are looking at.

As for whether the car is "right" for you or not, I see it this way: Is this the car that YOU!!!! want? If you want it, you get it. Don't let others talk you out of it. Are they driving the car? I bet you will find that if you are enjoying the night life, you are going to get a lot more looks (and girls) in the Jag than any Range Rover.

I bought a fairly new T-Bird when I was young and everyone was envious of me. I could afford it, so I bought it. You are in that same boat. If you want the car, GET IT!!!! You won't be disappointed.

Old 01-30-2010, 02:54 PM