XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice on car purchase please :)

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2016, 10:06 AM
Received 24 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Advice on car purchase please :)

Hi all
As you can see from my number of posts, I'm a complete noobie here.

I've been lurking for a while, trying to soak up all the great info in the boards - thanks for that

I'm after a bit of advice please.
I'm looking for an XK8 coupe and have been chasing a few for a while.

I've found two promising cars that I'm trying to decide between.

The first is a 2000 in beige - sorry Topaz. It's a two owner car - the second owner having owned the car for 13years. 66k on the clock and at a reasonable price.

It's at a dealers so no service history is being offered, and the car is too far away for me to easily inspect personally. I have a garage inspection on Monday and have used a list compiled from these very boards to ensure certain known points are looked at. The car looks to have been cherished.

Obviously, I don't know if the tensioners have been replaced, whether the oil in the box has been replaced or Water pump. The car seems to be post Nicasil.

The second in a 2003 coupe. Obviously this has all of the above sorted as its a 4.2 with 6speed. Though it's not without its flaws. The roof has sun damage (black car kept in LA), the interesting seat air bag warning is on (2:2 flashing - doesn't bother me too much as I'm willing to dig into this to fix it). But it has 95k on the clock. It's also $1k more expensive. It's also a 4 owner car...

I'm looking for the car to be a summer cruiser to work. Store and work on through winter. Though I'm not looking to do major surgery on the car!