Another rear view mirror failure

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2010, 06:34 PM
Veteran Member
Received 305 Likes on 217 Posts
Smile Another rear view mirror failure

Originally Posted by ek_mundo
Hello

The next TWO projects ... replace the rear view mirror. The oil in the mirror isn't leaking but it doesn't work. I emailed a firm about a remenufactured peplacement. The second project is figuring out how to replace the light bulb or LED that lights up the radio. The LCD works with the channel or CD number, but no backlighting when the headlights are on. So, it's darn near impossible to see in low light situations. I have no experience at getting the radio out to even look at it.
Later
Ed K
Is the mirror replacement firm Sybesma's Electronics? That is where I got mine, for about $100. If you haven't already, check out this thread: https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/s...ad.php?t=17719

Old 08-13-2010, 02:54 PM
Received 7 Likes on 2 Posts

Hello,
I contacted Sybesma's Electronics. Here was their reply ...
Unfortunately, we do not have the plastics in house to build you a mirror as a pre-exchange. However, if you would like to send your mirror into us, as a repair and return, we will gladly exchange out the defective glass cell. The cost for repair is $95 (including shipping/handling) which will be retained up front prior to the repair. Please be advised that, to repair your mirror, we must open the plastics in your mirror. In the rare instance your plastics break beyond repair, Sybesma's will make every effort to find a comparable replacement but no guarantees are made. If unit does break, $15 will be retained as a bench fee and $80 refunded. (If you would like your mirror shipped back, an additional $16 in shipping/handling charges will apply) Please send your mirror along with contact info (or the initial order form sent) stating you would like the mirror repaired and returned.