XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

California Smog FAIL 1999 XK8

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2012, 07:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool California Smog FAIL 1999 XK8

I just returned from my California Smog Test, for my 1999 XK8, and as I hoped and prayed it would pass, (of course it did NOT), my report says all passed except for :

Malfunction Indicator Lights..........Fail
Fault Codes
P0121 TPS Sensor A Range/Performance Problem
P0328 Knock Sensor 1 High Input

Can any of you smarter than me, Jag Enthusiasts, please guide me in the right direction. I have taken some great advice and direction from this site, saving me loads of money already.

I am not a mechanic, (not since I could rip apart and reassemble my 1969 Chevelle, 4 speed, 350 small block lt1 engine, when there were no such things as sensors and micro chips telling my car how to act), but am perfectly capable of following instructions, especially when it saves me $$$.

I would really appreciate direction, so I can get back to loving my driving my XK8!

THANKS DJ PAUL E

Old 03-20-2012, 02:16 AM
Veteran member
Received 1,146 Likes on 752 Posts

Sounds like you had a check engine light on, and either the light itself wasn't illuminated (someone intentionallydisabled it, or bulb out -which is rare), and those two faults were present in the computer. The knock sensor surely would have triggered a check engine light for you to notice.

The TPS is part of the throttle body, and have been known to fail over time. I would clean the TB, and the TB plug/harness connector, then clear the codes. Oh, you might want to adjust your throttle cable too, there's a DIY procedure in the FAQ thread, but you'll need another 5 posts to access most of those pictures...I think. It may be a youtube video too...but easy to do in the garge.