XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

Changing KM to MPH gauge cluster

 
  #1  
Old 11-18-2012, 03:18 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changing KM to MPH gauge cluster

Hi guys, I have a question about changing the speedometer from KM/H to MP/H.

I'm looking to buy a '97 with 60k miles (96k kms). It's originally from Canada, so it has the speedo in KMs.

Replacement gauge clusters seem to be pretty cheap, so that's not a problem. However I'm wondering if there's a way to preserve the mileage on the odometer, or keep the old one, or is it a complete swap with the replacement where I get the replacement's mileage instead?

If that's the case, can a dealership re-program the odometer to match the original mileage?
 
  #2  
Old 11-18-2012, 09:07 PM
Reverend Sam's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,800
Received 843 Likes on 418 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cali_XK8 View Post
Hi guys, I have a question about changing the speedometer from KM/H to MP/H.

I'm looking to buy a '97 with 60k miles (96k kms). It's originally from Canada, so it has the speedo in KMs.

Replacement gauge clusters seem to be pretty cheap, so that's not a problem. However I'm wondering if there's a way to preserve the mileage on the odometer, or keep the old one, or is it a complete swap with the replacement where I get the replacement's mileage instead?

If that's the case, can a dealership re-program the odometer to match the original mileage?
I'm not certain, but I don't believe the dealer can reprogram the odometer. If that was possible, unscrupulous *******s with the software would be reprogramming odometers left and right.

The instrument cluster swap is very simple and you can buy them on eBay for anywhere from $27 to $275. If you find one that is within a couple of thousand miles of your current mileage (kilometerage?) then I'd just swap the cluster out and pretend it never happened. If you buy one with significantly less mileage than your current one then you should obviously tell a future buyer about it. I wouldn't buy one with more mileage on it simply because it will be an issue when you try to sell the car eventually.

After further consideration, it's worth calling the dealer just to see if they can reprogram it. If they have to install a brand new instrument cluster in a car then I would think they have to have a way to adjust the mileage. Maybe they break it open and swap out a chip or something.

By the way... Here's a video which shows how to remove and replace the instrument cluster. Sorry it's so grainy. I had the camera set on the wrong setting.

 
  #3  
Old 11-18-2012, 09:08 PM
Reverend Sam's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,800
Received 843 Likes on 418 Posts
Default

Oops. I said a dirty word. I meant to say "unscrupulous sons of mothers who were not married to the father at the time of their birth"
 
  #4  
Old 11-18-2012, 11:51 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

lol, ok.. thanks for the video
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jagtoes
XK / XKR ( X150 )
6
09-09-2015 09:56 PM
carcycle
S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 )
5
09-07-2015 10:22 AM
giandanielxk8
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
7
09-06-2015 07:21 PM
AL NZ
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 )
3
09-04-2015 08:39 PM
XFR_Gold
XF and XFR ( X250 )
2
09-02-2015 12:24 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Changing KM to MPH gauge cluster


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: