XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

Disconnecting the power antenna

 
  #1  
Old 09-12-2009, 10:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NORMAL,IL
Posts: 59
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Disconnecting the power antenna

First of all...thanks to all of you who have responded and helped me in the past...everyone has been a great help...i was thinking of somehow disconnecting my power antenna so that it doesn't go up everytime i have the radio on...i think it might give the car a cleaner look while driving down the road...first of all...is it simple to do and how do i do it...i am not a technician but can get around the vehicle...i for sure don't want to have to pull the radio out...and most importantly...should i do this...will it be something i regret down the road...like messing up the radio,motor,cable,or anything else...it's not worth it to me to have a messed up radio...i would much rather have my car in perfect working order...but if it is a simple un-plug something at the rear inside quarter panel and be able to plug it back in...i'm ok with that. I just don't want to have a potential problem down the road over something so minor....thanks for your input....eroc....2002 xk8 convert
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Eroc:
Orthodixie (03-26-2019), Terrapin (08-26-2011)
  #2  
Old 09-12-2009, 12:21 PM
Paul Pavlik's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,198
Received 406 Likes on 317 Posts
Default

With the demise of the Classical Music FM station in Milwaukee, I have to rely on my CD's for entertainment, Hence, I installed a Antenna On/Off Switch.

I mounted a Subminiture Toggle Switch in the panel beneath the front of the Armrest:

Name:  XKantenna_1.jpg
Views: 1137
Size:  51.2 KB

I removed the 4 screws holding the compartment under the Armrest and cut the Green\Black-Tracer wire connected to the large white Harness Connector. Then, I used crimp connectors to connect the leads from the Switch to the harness:


Name:  XKantenna_2.jpg
Views: 1138
Size:  81.8 KB

The diagram:

Name:  XKantenna_3.jpg
Views: 1119
Size:  47.5 KB

Here is a link to a Switch that can be used:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index … age=search

The nice thing about this mod is that you don't have to remove the Console.
 
The following 9 users liked this post by Paul Pavlik:
Alvin Burns (02-11-2011), DaveC (11-02-2012), eieio (06-07-2013), Fla Steve (01-09-2018), FSULongM (11-01-2018), MikeAlford (06-08-2019), Reverend Sam (12-01-2010), Terrapin (08-26-2011), XK8+XJ8L (12-01-2010)
  #3  
Old 09-13-2009, 09:29 PM
H20boy's Avatar
Veteran member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 11,302
Received 1,042 Likes on 704 Posts
Default

You can also put a LED toggle on that 'vacant' switch cover by you're lower left knee. The one shown here is 'not' an LED type. The one I speak of fits that opening perfectly. I've got a pdf of a process that will work, including part numbers for this install that is shown here. Just PM me or send me an email where I can email it to you.

 
The following 2 users liked this post by H20boy:
Fla Steve (01-09-2018), Terrapin (08-26-2011)
  #4  
Old 09-18-2009, 03:32 AM
GreenJewel's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oregon - We don't tan we rust
Posts: 458
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Paul how did you attach the wires to the switch? Did you solder them or were you able to find some blade type connectors? (I can't find any connectors that small).
 
  #5  
Old 09-18-2009, 10:20 AM
Paul Pavlik's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,198
Received 406 Likes on 317 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by GreenJewel View Post
Paul how did you attach the wires to the switch? Did you solder them or were you able to find some blade type connectors? (I can't find any connectors that small).
I soldered them. Also, I had to remove a small amount of console material (behind the plastic piece that the Switch is mounted in) to provide clearance for the Switch.
 
  #6  
Old 09-18-2009, 11:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 34
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I actually took a different approach and disconnected the white and yellow wiring harnesses shown in the above picture. If we take the Cat out to a drive in movie up in good 'ol Mayberry (Mt Airy, NC), I just pull back the carpet inside of the trunk and reconnect the antenna.

On a side note, I am an advocate of changing the term used to describe our power antennas on our XKs to the more appropriate Alien Beacon. For such a gorgeous work, the designers must have just forgotten about the antenna until the last minute when they decided to install the 80 feet tall Alien Beacon.


Tony Cottrell
Winston Salem, NC
97 XK8
05 XJ8 L
 
  #7  
Old 12-21-2009, 12:05 PM
Jaggyx's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,422
Received 101 Likes on 86 Posts
Default

but for the 1997 xk8 i cannot install a switch because of the extra wire only used in the 1997 cars right?
 
  #8  
Old 12-21-2009, 04:55 PM
Paul Pavlik's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,198
Received 406 Likes on 317 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jim.logan View Post
but for the 1997 xk8 i cannot install a switch because of the extra wire only used in the 1997 cars right?
Yes, you can install the switch as shown. Just be sure to splice the switch into the circuit right at the white connector under the arm rest (IC2-14) as shown in the picture. This should (circuit wise) be "after" the splice (ICS2) which feeds the Premium Sound Amp.
 
The following users liked this post:
Orthodixie (03-26-2019)
  #9  
Old 12-22-2009, 05:51 PM
GordoCatCar's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ormond Beach FL
Posts: 1,317
Received 353 Likes on 169 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Paul Pavlik View Post
Yes, you can install the switch as shown. Just be sure to splice the switch into the circuit right at the white connector under the arm rest (IC2-14) as shown in the picture. This should (circuit wise) be "after" the splice (ICS2) which feeds the Premium Sound Amp.
That is correct. My car is a '97, and the splice behind the head unit did not work; however, the splice further back, as Paul describes above, works perfectly.
 
The following users liked this post:
Orthodixie (03-26-2019)
  #10  
Old 05-12-2010, 08:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ventura County / CA
Posts: 81
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Another option

I like keeping my additions hidden or looking as stock as possible. I decided to put my switch in the center console tray. I apologize for the quality of the pictures as I took them with my iPhone. This is a great thread!



Name:  photo11.jpg
Views: 1101
Size:  82.2 KB

Name:  photo12.jpg
Views: 1103
Size:  91.1 KB

Name:  photo14.jpg
Views: 1088
Size:  61.0 KB

Name:  photo13.jpg
Views: 1108
Size:  53.1 KB


I ended up soldering the green and black wire to my new wire as I did not want them to separate. Super easy mod!
 
The following 5 users liked this post by Dalen:
Fla Steve (01-09-2018), Orthodixie (03-26-2019), Reverend Sam (12-01-2010), Terrapin (08-26-2011), XK8+XJ8L (12-01-2010)
  #11  
Old 05-13-2010, 10:37 AM
H20boy's Avatar
Veteran member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 11,302
Received 1,042 Likes on 704 Posts
Default

Thats a good install Dalen, did you ever consider the same switch, but with a LED light on it...so you don't mistake up from down (unless you look behind you)
 
  #12  
Old 05-15-2010, 11:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ventura County / CA
Posts: 81
Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I thought about that but I think it would look a little cheesy. Maybe a little too much like a rice burner... lol. Plus, as you noted, I can simply look over my shoulder and see my mars beacon.
 

Last edited by Dalen; 05-15-2010 at 11:52 AM.
  #13  
Old 05-15-2010, 01:07 PM
K.Westra's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Luverne, MN
Posts: 2,181
Received 281 Likes on 209 Posts
Default

I put mine inside that compartment as well, but at the back. I'll take a picture when I get a chance. I did one other small mod I want to show too.
 
  #14  
Old 05-15-2010, 09:29 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 228
Received 23 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

I`ve got a 2003 XKR....do you know if this procedure is the same for the 2003 XKR models? I`d like to install a switch on my car....thanks...
 
  #15  
Old 05-16-2010, 05:17 AM
K.Westra's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Luverne, MN
Posts: 2,181
Received 281 Likes on 209 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by cpm53 View Post
I`ve got a 2003 XKR....do you know if this procedure is the same for the 2003 XKR models? I`d like to install a switch on my car....thanks...
Should be the same procedure. If you get to the wires and get confused, post some pictures and we can help you, but I think when you get to them you should be able to figure it out. I will tell you there is very little slack in the wire that you are splicing into. Other that than it is straightforward.
 
  #16  
Old 05-16-2010, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 228
Received 23 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Thanks...I`m going to give it a try...
 
  #17  
Old 05-16-2010, 05:43 PM
H20boy's Avatar
Veteran member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 11,302
Received 1,042 Likes on 704 Posts
Default

CPM, you've got full access it looks like to the forum documents, there's an electrical diagram link in our FAQ section that will give you color id's for all the wires headed to the back of the car. In face, I might still have mine...here it is. (click on the image for the big zoom)



 
  #18  
Old 05-16-2010, 07:43 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mendo Calinorte
Posts: 89
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Excellent Thread

Just getting it to retract flush, surely pales by comparrison. Excellent photos .. even by phone standards .. surely no need to apologize .. very nice install. Thanks for sharing. Have Fun .. Be Safe
 
  #19  
Old 05-17-2010, 06:40 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 228
Received 23 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Hi h20boy...thanks for the wiring diagram...I`m going to do this as soon as I buy a switch!
 
  #20  
Old 05-17-2010, 09:35 AM
H20boy's Avatar
Veteran member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 11,302
Received 1,042 Likes on 704 Posts
Default

good luck cpm, follow up if you would, with your results.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Disconnecting the power antenna


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: