XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2011, 09:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with exhaust

Hello all, I'm a newbie to the site and also a new xkr owner. I wanted to upgrade the exhaust note with a deeper sound, is Mina my only source for this? if not can anyone tell me the others that will fit and thedifference between the diff exhaust? Any company info would be appreciated.

Also , I saw some 911 tips and loved them, do these fit on any exhaust? How are they installed. Thanks

Old 07-28-2011, 02:24 AM
Veteran Member
Received 133 Likes on 107 Posts

There are a number of ways to make your exhaust louder. That's the real issue. There are 5 mufflers on a stock system. Replacing or removing one or more is what you'll want to do.

You can take out the center muffler and putting an X or H pipe.

You can remove one or both sets of rear mufflers, keep the center muffler, or just put replacement flowmasters... I think 30's or 40's are what is typically used.

You can also replace the catalytic converters with the Nameless Performance high flow downpipes.

Mina replaces the exhaust after the center muffler. Arden also makes a kit. Another company that I'm aware of is Milltek, though I haven't seen any reviews.

Or you can pick and choose any number of the above modifications.

Any half-baked exhaust shop can make you a decent exhaust. There are also plenty of companies that will custom fit a performance exhaust as well.