Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No Cruise, & Amber Engine Fault 1997 XK8

Old 10-31-2016, 01:57 PM
Red
Received 53 Likes on 29 Posts
Default No Cruise, & Amber Engine Fault 1997 XK8

Hi all!

I'm a Jaguar novice looking at several XK8s (mostly 1997-2000 purely for aesthetic reasons - and yes, I've read up on Nikasil, water pumps, tensioners, etc.) to find a good one for me.

The current front runner is a 1997 xk8 (4.0L) with 86K. The cruise isn't working.

Every time one tries to set the cruise control, it fails to set (sometimes it will feel like it catches for a moment), the cruise button light on the center console goes out, and an amber light with an "Engine Fault" appears on the odometer screen and stays there.

No check engine light comes on when this happens and I was running a wireless OBD2 reader using Dash Command while it happened last time and did not see any error codes come up.

If you restart the car everything is fine again until you try to engage the cruise.

I am paying a Jaguar dealership to inspect it tomorrow before making an offer. They want an extra $220 to pull codes & diagnose this cruise problem. On top of the $325 I'm already paying them to inspect the car ($175) and diagnose a climate control issue ($150).

From reading through past posts am thinking this is problem is probably (in order of likelihood):

1) a faulty Brake switch (BPP switch)
or
2) a vacuum problem (line or the vacuum thingy on top of the the engine near the rear)

My gut feeling is that it's probably a relatively minor problem, so it's not worth it at this point. Skip the diagnosis, negotiate the price down a little, buy the car, and then do the brake switch myself (leaving the bracket on). Then if that doesn't work take it to an independent Jag mechanic I have picked out and go from there.

But on the other hand I know nothing about XK8s that I didn't read online in the last month or so.