XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No transmission service needed, sez dealer.

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2010, 03:27 PM
Received 80 Likes on 52 Posts
Question No transmission service needed, sez dealer.

Ok, I know the XK8 transmission is supposed to be sealed for life, but we all know there is life after 80k miles. I figured that having the fluid changed and screen (filter?) cleaned out would extend the life of the transmission, but the dealer service rep tells me this is not necessary until the car shows signs of slipping shifts, etc. or some other indication that the transmission needs attention.

I'm new to Jags, but this seems counterintuitive. At the same time I don't want to take this down to AAMCO as it is likely that they know nothing about the car.

Thoughts?

Old 03-04-2010, 04:35 PM
Gus
Veteran Member
Received 2,207 Likes on 1,700 Posts

Many will tell you it is a good idea and the same amount will tell you the opposite and to leave it alone. I had it done because I believe in preventive maintenance and shortly after I had a failure and the a&b drum had to be replaced. You should know that this is type of failure is not uncommon with this transmission and not with just this car, this trans is used on others BMW is just one of the many. After my failure I asked my transmission mechanic if changing the fluid (servicing) could have caused the problem and he said no. Do I trust his judgment? Yes!

I am providing you a link https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/s...ad.php?t=31553 for you to read the many comments from a poll that was taken on fluid change and trans failures, I hope this helps.

Old 03-04-2010, 04:53 PM
Veteran member
Received 1,143 Likes on 749 Posts

I'd ask for the service anyway. If you want to be REALLY preventative, do the a-drum replacement/rebuild at the same time...kill two birds and all that.

Gus is also pretty keen about the rebuild/refurbished details, so ask more if you need to about that.