Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Normal Engine Coolant Temperature

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2015, 06:58 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,110 Likes on 932 Posts
Default Normal Engine Coolant Temperature

I have been screwing with my coolant system for several months now and it is still not right. First there was the reoccurring 'low coolant' warning and then . . . last October, driving up one of my local mountains, the coolant hose from the thermostat housing to the lower radiator blew off and I got to ride in the cab of a big green flatbed tow truck.

The low coolant problem was the radiator cross over pipe that had a slow leak from rotting plastic just inside the hose. Pressure test kit finally showed that one up.

Since I had to open the coolant system I decided that it was time to change out the plastic thermostat housing to the aluminum version. Been there before on the previous car so that wasn't such a big deal other than the infamous rear bolts on the housing. I have a new bent wrench in case anyone would like to use it.

Tight Wad Tom had replaced the thermostat 3-4 years or so ago so rather than replace it again I tested it in a pan of water on the stove with an IR temp gauge verifying that it quickly and repetitively opened at the prescribed 183 degrees. TWT also replaced the Zerez G05 with Peak Universal on sale.