XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Perceived arrogance..? I hope I'm wrong..

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2013, 05:20 PM
Received 26 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Perceived arrogance..? I hope I'm wrong..

I don't know if this is the right place to ask this question, and if I offend anyone please let me apologize in advance. I don't mean this to be offensive.
I am new to the world of "nice cars". What I mean by that is I am basically a old Ford or Chevy guy. Most of my cars are street rods or classics. When I drive these cars I usually get a smile and a thumbs up from the motoring public at large. I always try to smile and give a little wave or honk. If I am approached when parked somewhere I am glad to answer questions, or let someone take a picture with my car.
While we were traveling recently in our XK8 I did not get that response. In fact what I perceived was more of an assumption that we were rich *** holes that expected to be treated as such. If they only knew that my car cost less than 10K and that I worked on it constantly to make it run, maybe they would feel differently. I hope I am wrong in this perception. Maybe I just ran into the wrong group of people, but it is not what I am about.
Maybe I am guilty of feeling that way too when I see some of the super cars that some people drive. It is a little different to be on the other side.....

Old 03-18-2013, 05:28 PM
Received 51 Likes on 47 Posts

I've had my XK8 for four years, and find that car people appreciate all interesting cars including our Jags. There are always a few people that pre-judge others, and being in a Jag allows them to jump to conclusions. Do not let the minority get you wondering.

Old 03-18-2013, 05:36 PM
Veteran Member
Received 540 Likes on 421 Posts

The seas usually part for me when I drive my Jaguars.
Jetta? Not so much.

Old 03-18-2013, 06:07 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,110 Likes on 932 Posts