XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

So much rust on my 2000 XKR

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2016, 07:08 AM
Received 28 Likes on 14 Posts
Default So much rust on my 2000 XKR

I am fairly new to this game and stupidly did no research before I made a purchase in Spring 2014.
After realising just what I had purchased, last year I completely de-rusted the underside of my 2000 XKR convertible, welded 2 new floor plates in the front foot wells or eventually this car would be scrap.
Over Xmas with a bit of time off, I thought I would finish painting my callipers red, so I started........, but on stripping out the calliper there was so must rust on the suspension parts, I ended up doing the following;-

1. Completely stripping out all, de-rust & paint.
To get the brake dust guard off, I had to heat up the 3 bolts with Oxyacetylene, came out easy after that. Ball joints split easy enough with my ball joint tool, but compressing that enormously springy spring with my spring compressors was probably the most time consuming & tedious bit.

Replaced
2. New upper wishbone bush.
3. New shock bush
Lucky my mate has a 15 Tonne press, came out easy enough. The old bush I used the outer case and machined a tool out of it for inserting the new bush, as its easy to damage the rubber otherwise.

So after all that, I thought may as well lower it now as opposed to do it as a later project, so uprated lower springs in bound from Powerhouse, Lawson the boss there is great for tips and advice, his lower crankshaft pullers are a superb mod to the steel bodied XKR's, he is also very reasonable with his prices.

Now I realise I have to do this x 3, which I estimate is another 9-12 days work!!!!!

See attached pictures, That's my kitchen table by the way, I think my wife might kill me eventually with all this, lol.

So I have a couple of Camber questions for my lower springs;-