XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Used XKR values & questions from a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2008, 11:32 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Used XKR values & questions from a newbie

Hi all, I'm new to the XK scene and doing my research. I plan on buyinga used XKR in the next few months and wanted to ask a few questions to help me along. Yes, I'velooked through the backposts also.

1. I'm curious to know why the values of used XKRs fall so rapidily, pre 2007. Is there some hidden gotcha with owning these cars, what's the catch? I can see that parts my be expensive but so are parts for just about all luxery cars today like Lexus, BMW, etc. Or perhaps it's because the new generation cars have come out. It's good for me, because I can obtain onerelatively cheap, but just wondering.

2. What is considered the best year car to own of that generation. Seems to me the 2005 modelis about the sweet spot of price and updates, but again, I've only startedmy research.

3. Any preferences/arguments as which to buy...XK8 or go for the XKR? Basically is there any downside to purchasing an XKR vs the XK8 to get the extra performance. For example, higher insurance, supercharger replacement likely, etc. I've owned a supercharged car before and know that can be quite expensive to replace.

4. Is there manufacturing list anywhere that lists how many where made, colors made, etc. for each year?

I've noticed alot of dealers have these cars for sale and not very many individuals....I hate buying from car brokers and want to avoid if at all possible.

I hope to be driving a coupe soon! Thanks in advance!

Old 11-25-2008, 12:16 AM
Veteran Member
Received 537 Likes on 400 Posts
Default RE: Used XKR values & questions from a newbie