XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Value of an XK8 w/ rebuilt engine and tranny?

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2016, 08:05 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Value of an XK8 w/ rebuilt engine and tranny?

I’m new to Jags and have what may be a great opportunity or may be the perfect example of the saying “there’s nothing more expensive than a cheap Jag”. I’ve read tons of buying guides and threads, but I’d like a more knowledgeable opinion on this exact situation.

I’m looking at a ’98 XK8 with 80k miles. Overall it looks to be in good shape with the one obvious flaw being the driver’s seat bolster. I’m guessing it was owned by someone who shouldn’t have owned it, because it has a rebuilt engine (with metal tensioners) and transmission (meaning they didn’t know to change the fluid).

After reading the various buying guides, I’m pretty comfortable with the overall potential issues for a non-abused Jag (I’m a former motorcycle mechanic), but I have no idea what a reasonable price is for an XK8 with a rebuilt engine and tranny nor how much more likely the other issues are.

What is a reasonable price and is there anything I should be particularly wary of due to the seemingly unaware owner?

Old 04-25-2016, 09:28 PM
Veteran Member
Received 600 Likes on 446 Posts

IMHO A 98 in excellent condition is a 7 to 8K car, take into account the condition of the car you are looking at and deduct from there. I'd want documentation on the rebuilds.

The following users liked this post:
thekiltedwonder (04-25-2016)
Old 04-25-2016, 11:29 PM

Thanks Jandreu. Any thoughts on how the rebuilds affect the value?

Old 04-26-2016, 01:59 AM
Received 268 Likes on 200 Posts

I'm not sure it's fair to say the previous owner should have changed the transmission fluid if the car's only done 80k. You certainly can't blame that for a failure.