Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Jaguar X-Type Head Gasket

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2014, 02:31 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Jaguar X-Type Head Gasket

Hi All,
I am not good with this and wanted to get some opinions (or maybe someone has any experience to share?)
Last weekend, I drove for about 2 hours on the motorway and then parked my X-Type Spirit in the car park, where I noticed some water dribbling from underneath the bonnet. I turned off the engine and decided to have a look in the morning. By then, all the radiator fluid was gone and I called my friendly rescue man. He couldn't find a leak after filling up the coolant and turned on the engine when all the fluid came bubbling from the container. He diagnosed that I need a new head gasket, so I had the car town to my local garage who told me it was a big job.
Now he told me that he is waiting for quotes for the head gaskets (there seem to be several in a V6 engine???) including pressure checking. He said the last three places told him not to take on the job and he has only one place left who might give him a quote, but he told me today that even if I let it get fixed, the head will still be prone to splitting and my car might break down more often after the replacement, resulting in overheating. (basically suggesting to get a new car)
Is this true?
Should I try to get it fixed at a Jaguar garage and hope for the best? How likely is it to break again?
I do like my Spirit, but need a reliable car.

Old 09-16-2014, 03:36 PM
Veteran Member
Received 301 Likes on 279 Posts

I'm not sure if I understand you when you say the water all the water came bubbling from the container. If you mean when the guy added water it all ran out from the overflow reservoir then more than likely that developed a crack or maybe the upper nipple broke off and you just need to replace that. Not expensive and very simple to do. Do a search on here and you will see that is a common problem with our cars.